Skip to Content Skip to Menu
National Evaluation Series

This website will be temporarily unavailable on Sunday, August 19, for approximately one hour beginning at 8:00 a.m. eastern time, for a system upgrade. During the upgrade process, users will not be able to access the website, register and schedule their tests, or access scores. We apologize for any inconvenience.


What tests do I need to take? Educator certification requirements vary from state to state. NES tests are taken by individuals pursuing certification as entry-level teachers. Please contact the state agency responsible for educator certification in your state for more information.

Information about each test. Get specific information about a test, including when and where you can take the test, and access preparation materials by selecting the test from the following table.

Essential Academic Skills
Subtest I: Reading
Subtest II: Writing
Subtest III: Mathematics
Subtest IV: Technology Literacy
Professional Knowledge
Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Elementary
Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Secondary
Elementary Assessments
Early Childhood Education
Early Childhood Education (Birth–Prekindergarten)
Early Childhood Education (Age 3–Age 8)
Elementary Education Subtest I
Elementary Education Subtest II
Essential Components of Elementary Reading Instruction
Middle Grades Assessments
Middle Grades English Language Arts
Middle Grades General Science
Middle Grades Mathematics
Middle Grades Social Science
Secondary Assessments
Business Education
Earth and Space Science
English Language Arts
Family and Consumer Sciences
General Science
Mathematics (Middle Grades and Early Secondary)
Social Science
K–12 Assessments
Chinese (Mandarin)
Computer Science
English to Speakers of Other Languages
Gifted Education
Physical Education
School Counselor
School Library Media Specialist
Special Education